

No. 27

# **VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS**

Third Session

Twenty-Ninth Legislature

Wednesday, May 3, 2017

The Deputy Speaker took the Chair at 9:00 a.m.

## **Government Bills and Orders**

# **Third Reading**

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Third time:

Bill 10 Appropriation Act, 2017 (\$) — Hon. Min. Ceci

A debate followed.

Hon. Mr. Mason moved adjournment of the debate, which was agreed to. With Ms Jabbour in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 38

Anderson (Leduc-Beaumont) Jansen Payne Carson Kazim **Phillips** Kleinsteuber Piquette Clark Rosendahl Coolahan Littlewood Dach Loyola Sabir Schmidt Dang Luff Eggen Malkinson Schreiner Feehan Mason Shepherd Fitzpatrick McCuaig-Boyd Sucha McKitrick Sweet Gray Hinkley McPherson Turner Hoffman Miller Westhead

Horne Miranda

Against the motion: 11

Anderson (Highwood)GillSchneiderCyrHansonSmithFildebrandtLoewenStrankman

Fraser Panda

#### Committee of the Whole

According to Order, the Assembly resolved itself into Committee of the Whole and the Deputy Speaker left the Chair.

(Assembly in Committee)

The following Bill was taken under consideration:

Bill 7 An Act to Enhance Post-secondary Academic Bargaining — Hon. Mr. Schmidt

Mr. W. Anderson moved that the Bill be amended in section 1(2), in the proposed section 58.2(2), by striking out "2022" and substituting "2027".

The question being put, the amendment was defeated. With Ms Jabbour at the Table, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the amendment: 9

Anderson (Highwood)FraserSchneiderCyrGillSmithFildebrandtHansonStrankman

Against the amendment: 36

Anderson (Leduc-Beaumont) Jansen Miranda Bilous Kazim **Phillips** Carson Kleinsteuber Piquette Rosendahl Coolahan Littlewood Dach Loyola Sabir Schmidt Dang Luff Eggen Malkinson Schreiner Feehan Mason Shepherd Fitzpatrick McCuaig-Boyd Sucha McKitrick Gray Sweet Hinkley McPherson Turner Horne Miller Westhead

And after some time spent therein, the Deputy Speaker resumed the Chair.

Progress was reported on the following Bill:

Bill 7 An Act to Enhance Post-secondary Academic Bargaining — Hon. Mr. Schmidt

Mr. Dach, Acting Chair of Committees, tabled copies of all amendments considered by Committee of the Whole on this date for the official records of the Assembly.

Amendment to Bill 7 (A1) (Hon. Member for Calgary-Elbow) — Defeated Sessional Paper 227/2017

Amendment to Bill 7 (A2) (Hon. Member for Highwood) — Defeated on division

Sessional Paper 228/2017

# Adjournment

On motion by Hon. Mr. Mason, Government House Leader, that it be called 12:00 p.m., the Assembly adjourned at 11:56 a.m. until 1:30 p.m.

WEDNESDAY, MAY 3, 2017 — 1:30 PM

## ROUTINE

### **Members' Statements**

Mr. Barnes, Hon. Member for Cypress-Medicine Hat, made a statement expressing concern regarding Tzeporah Berman, Co-Chair, Oil Sands Advisory Group.

Ms Goehring, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Castle Downs, made a statement thanking social workers, front-line service providers, first responders, Albertans, and Canadians for the support provided following the May 2016 wildfires in Fort McMurray.

Mr. Drysdale, Hon. Member for Grande Prairie-Wapiti, made a statement regarding innovative ways businesses in the Grande Prairie-Wapiti constituency are reducing their carbon footprint.

Mr. Sucha, Hon. Member for Calgary-Shaw, made a statement regarding Mauro Ranallo, a Canadian professional wrestling commentator who experienced workplace bullying and hazing, and the need for all Members of the Legislative Assembly to take a stance against workplace bullying and harassment.

Ms Miller, Hon. Member for Red Deer-South, made a statement recognizing April 23 to 29, 2017, as National Organ Donation Week, regarding the huge impact organ and tissue donation makes on recipients, including Ms Miller's husband, who will receive a donated cornea.

Mr. Hanson, Hon. Member for Lac La Biche-St. Paul-Two Hills, made a statement regarding the assistance provided by many Albertans following the May 2016 Fort McMurray wildfires, particularly residents in the Lac La Biche, Boyle, Athabasca, and Grassland communities.

## **Tabling Returns and Reports**

Mr. Shepherd, Chair, Standing Committee on Legislative Offices, pursuant to the Auditor General Act, cA-46, s20(1):

Report of the Auditor General of Alberta – May 2017

Sessional Paper 229/2017

Mr. van Dijken, Hon. Member for Barrhead-Morinville-Westlock:

Letter dated April 10, 2017, from Lynette McCracken, Executive Director, High River and District Chamber of Commerce, to Mr. van Dijken, Hon. Member for Barrhead-Morinville-Westlock, requesting additional time for the Government's workplace legislation review

Sessional Paper 230/2017

Email message dated May 3, 2017, from Karen Lisoway, Vice President, Dynamysk, to Hon. Ms Gray, Minister of Labour and Minister Responsible for Democratic Renewal, and Hon. Min. Ceci, President of Treasury Board and Minister of Finance, expressing concern regarding the Government's review of the Alberta Labour Relations Code

Sessional Paper 231/2017

## ORDERS OF THE DAY

### **Government Bills and Orders**

### Committee of the Whole

According to Order, the Assembly resolved itself into Committee of the Whole and the Speaker left the Chair.

(Assembly in Committee)

And after some time spent therein, the Deputy Speaker assumed the Chair.

The following Bill was reported:

Bill 7 An Act to Enhance Post-secondary Academic Bargaining — Hon. Mr. Schmidt

Progress was reported on the following Bill:

Bill 8 An Act to Strengthen Municipal Government — Hon. Mr. S. Anderson

Ms Sweet, Deputy Chair of Committees, tabled copies of all amendments considered by Committee of the Whole on this date for the official records of the Assembly.

Amendment to Bill 8 (A1) (Hon. Minister of Municipal Affairs) — Agreed to Sessional Paper 232/2017

Amendment to Bill 8 (A2) (Hon. Member for Livingstone-Macleod) — Adjourned

Sessional Paper 233/2017

### **Third Reading**

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Third time:

Bill 10 Appropriation Act, 2017 (\$) — Hon. Min. Ceci

A debate followed.

Pursuant to Standing Order 64(5), at 5:45 p.m. the Deputy Speaker interrupted the proceedings and immediately put the question on the Appropriation Bill standing on the Order Paper for Third Reading.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to. With Ms Jabbour in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 37

Horne Miranda Anderson (Leduc-Beaumont) Babcock Jansen Nielsen Bilous Kazim Phillips Carlier Kleinsteuber Renaud Littlewood Rosendahl Ceci Coolahan Luff Sabir Cortes-Vargas Schreiner Malkinson Shepherd Dang Mason Drever McCuaig-Boyd Sucha Fitzpatrick McKitrick Sweet McPherson Westhead Ganley Miller Woollard Gray

Hinkley

Against the motion: 17

Aheer Gill Schneider
Cooper Loewen Starke
Cyr McIver Stier
Drysdale Orr Taylor
Ellis Pitt van Dijken

Fraser Rodney

The following Bill was read a Third time and passed:

Bill 10 Appropriation Act, 2017 (\$) — Hon. Min. Ceci

# Adjournment

The Assembly adjourned at 6:03 p.m. until Thursday, May 4, 2017, at 9:00 a.m.

Hon. Robert E. Wanner, Speaker

Title: Wednesday, May 3, 2017